Communication Awards


SEDC gives the Communication Awards each year at its annual conference.  Over 20 categories of marketing work submitted by SEDC members are evaluated within four division-size levels. The awards are: BEST OF SHOW, BEST OF CLASS, SUPERIOR, EXCELLENT, MERIT, and SPECIAL JUDGES’ AWARDS. Judging criteria for General Entry Awards include Graphic Appeal, Clarity of Message, Quality of Information, Positioning / Differentiation, and Format. All winners were on full display for attendees to view during the conference.

Judges for the Communication Awards competition are economic development consultants, practitioners, and design professionals from across the southern U.S. that work with clients in developing strategies for growth in their communities. SEDC chooses judges based on their knowledge of economic development, site location, and de­sign. They understand the needs businesses have in choosing a site and how communities and economic development organizations can reach prospective clients through their marketing efforts. 

To be eligible for the 2024 competition, entries must have been produced or have undergone significant revisions between June 2023 and June 2024. Entries from previous SEDC Annual Conference competitions are not accepted. Competition is limited to SEDC members from economic development organizations. You may submit the duplicate entry in more than one category as long as it has its own FORM A and is submitted along with the appropriate fees. Public relations and advertising agencies may submit entries on behalf of their clients (who are SEDC members) if the entry is submitted under the client’s name and address. Awards will be presented to the entering economic development organization, not to advertising or public relations agencies. All awards feature the name of the economic development organization.

Click here to download the 2024 Application

2023 Best of Show & State Division 2023 Best in Class - Large Division
2023 Best in Class - Medium Division 2023 Best in Class - Small Division
2022 Best of Show
2022 Best in Class - Medium Division 2022 Best in Class - Large Division
2022 Best in Class - Small Division 2022 Best in Class - State Division
2021 Winners
2020 Winners 2019 Winners
2018 Winners 2017 Winners
2016 Winners 2015 Winners

Apply for the CEDA Awards as well!